Brentwood DUI Attorney
In Tennessee, like the rest of the nation, a driver who has a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 percent or more is presumed to be intoxicated and can be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). This is not, however, the only DUI-related law on the books in Tennessee. A person who has an extremely high BAC, for instance, can face enhanced penalties, while those under the age of 21 years old are subject to a zero tolerance policy.
Just because you were arrested for driving under the influence doesn’t mean that you will be convicted. You have the right to mount a strong defense on your behalf, but don’t have to do so on your own. For help, please reach out to a dedicated Brentwood DUI attorney today.
BAC Limits in Tennessee
As we mentioned earlier, a person who is pulled over while driving and who registers a BAC of .08 percent or higher can be deemed intoxicated in Tennessee. Someone who registers as .20 or more, however, can be charged with an enhanced DUI, which comes with more severe penalties for those who are convicted. Drivers who are under the age of 21 years old are subject to a zero tolerance policy in Tennessee. Under this standard, an underage driver who has a BAC of at least .02 can be found to have committed a DUI. The penalties are a bit different for these drivers. If convicted, for instance, someone between the age of 16 and 20 years old won’t face jail time, but will have his or her license revoked for a year, will be fined $250, and could be required to complete community service.
Penalties and Sentences
In Tennessee, even first time DUI offenders must spend some time in jail (at least 48 hours), unless their BAC was .20 or higher, in which case, their stay will be extended to a minimum of a week. These, however, are the minimum thresholds. A first-time DUI offender, for instance, could end up spending up to a year in jail, paying a $1,500 fine, having his or her license revoked for a year, and being required to attend a drug and alcohol treatment program. Second DUIs are punished even more severely, with a minimum of 45 days in jail, a fine of up to $3,500, a two year license revocation, and the issuance of a restricted license. Third DUI offenses come with a minimum of four months in jail, a $10,000 fine, and a six to ten year license revocation, while fourth and subsequent offenses are charged as felonies and are punishable by at least a year in jail.
Talk to an Experienced Brentwood DUI Attorney About Your Charges
A skilled DUI attorney will have the knowledge and resources to fully investigate a DUI charge, including determining whether the stop was legitimate, whether any blood or alcohol tests were properly administered, and whether your constitutional rights were protected. To learn more about the grounds upon which your own case could be challenged or dismissed, please call
615-861-2304 and set up a meeting with one of the dedicated DUI lawyers at Beal, Nations & Crutcher today.