Franklin DUI Attorney
Drinking and driving is illegal, but it is still a common crime in Tennessee and all throughout the country. More than 10,000 people are killed in drunk driving crashes in the United States every year. This is a devastating statistic, considering that all of these deaths could have been prevented.
States are working hard to reduce the number of driving under the influence (DUI) deaths. Because of this, DUI offenses are punished harshly. You could face fines, jail time, license loss, and more. Protect your legal rights with help from the Franklin DUI attorneys at Beal, Nations & Crutcher.
In Tennessee, a driver who is under the influence of alcohol can face a variety of criminal offenses, including the following:
- DUI. A first-time offender can face penalties such as a $1,500 fine, up to 11 months and 29 days in jail, license loss for one year, and participation in an alcohol treatment program. The penalties increase with each subsequent DUI charge.
- Vehicular assault. This is when a drunk driver causes serious injury to another person. This is a Class D felony that can result in 2-12 years in prison as well as 1-5 years of license revocation and various fines and fees.
- Aggravated vehicular assault. This occurs if a person has at least two DUI convictions, a previous vehicular homicide conviction, or a BAC of at least .20 or higher with a prior DUI offense. This is a Class A felony, which can result in 15 to 60 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000.
- Vehicular homicide. This refers to a fatal crash caused by a driver with a BAC of 0.08 or above. It is a Class B felony punishable by 8-30 years in prison plus a revoked license for 3-10 years.
- Child endangerment. This is a DUI with a passenger in the vehicle who is under the age of 18. If the child is injured, it is a Class D felony. If the child is killed, it becomes a Class B felony. The driver will get their license revoked and face up to 30 years in prison.
- Implied consent. This is when a driver refuses to submit to blood alcohol testing. They can have their license revoked for a period of one year.
Those under the age of 21 can also be convicted of DUI crimes, even though they are not old enough to legally possess alcohol. A person who is driving while impaired can face one year of license revocation, along with a $250 fine and possible community service.
Contact Us Today
Drinking and driving is a serious crime. Those who engage in it can cause serious accidents that not only injure themselves but innocent victims as well.
Have you been accused of a DUI? If so, you need the law firm of Beal, Nations & Crutcher on your side. We’ll provide you with aggressive representation. Call (615) 861-2304 to schedule a consultation.